A CATCH UP WITH RONJA HILL-WRITE


Who is Ronja Hill Wright?
I am someone who loves to get out and enjoy life in the outdoors with friends especially when its on bikes


Where are you from and where do you live now?
I am originally from Canberra, Australia but moved to Rotorua, New Zealand in 2015 for the riding and community here

How did you start mountain biking?
I started mountain biking because one of my close friends growing up had started so I figured why not give it a go, I did start riding XC but soon realised I wasn't too fond of racing up hill and turned to gravity pretty quick.

Who are your sponsors?
Yeti Cycles NZ, Dharco clothing, Mountain Bike Rotorua, Polynesian Spa, Ride
100%, Maxxis and Ride Concepts

What bike(s) do you ride?
Yeti SB140
Yeti SB165 

What is a typical day for you?
Generally starting out with a bit of work bookkeeping then try to get out on the bike either in the forest or to the local dirt jumps

What riding accomplishments are you most proud of?
In the last few years my accomplishments have been to come back after injury and push through mental barriers that I had put up against myself. I find this the most satisfying feeling

What are your strengths?
Jumps, love the airtime
What are your weaknesses?
most of the time it is confidence but my god cornering properly is hard

What are you most excited for this season?
To have my friends back in NZ for summer 

Where is your favourite place to ride?
Wynyard, Queenstown 



Who or what inspires you?
Seeing others pushing themselves and progressing 

Do you have a favourite motto or saying?
Make sure your doing it for you 

What do you think about the future of mountain biking?
It is pretty exciting at the moment, for me mostly looking at the women pushing the boundaries in Freeride 

What does the future hold for you?
a lot more riding, hopefully able to travel a little more freely to get back overseas